(50)

State Election Commission

(Under Panchayati Raj Act. 1989)

Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir

Nirvachan Bhawan , Rail Head Complex Jammu Phone No :-0191-2477519 Fax No: 0191-2477388

Subject: Publishing the List of Contesting Candidates when District Development Council Elections are held on Party lines.

Order No: SEC/Pyt/2020/05 Dated:13-11-2020

Whereas, State Election Commission (Election Authority) J&K has announced schedule of the Elections to the District Development Councils in the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir and the elections are being held on party lines;

Whereas, Rule 108-L of J&K Panchayati Raj Rules, 1996 provides that, 'After the expiry of date of withdrawal the Returning Officer shall publish a list of contesting candidates in alphabetical order; The alphabetical order shall be determined with reference to the names of the candidates';

Whereas, Rule 108-L does not specify clear procedure for publication of list of candidates when the elections are being held on party lines;

Whereas, a need has been felt to prescribe the procedure for publishing the list of candidates after the expiry of date of withdrawal in case the elections are being held on party lines;

Whereas, Rule 108-ZM of J&K Panchayati Raj Rules,1996 empowers the Election Authority to give clarifications and additional instructions on the matters not covered under rules for smooth conduct of elections;

Now, therefore in exercise of powers conferred under Rule 108-ZM, the Election Authority (SEC) hereby issues following direction:-

"In case of elections being held on party lines, after the expiry of date of withdrawal, the Returning Officer shall publish a list of contesting candidates in the following order and starting with the candidates of:-

- a. Recognised National and Recognised State Party (in alphabetic order)
- b. Registered unrecognised parties (in alphabetic order)
- c. Others (in alphabetic order).

(Alphabetic order shall be drawn for each category separately)

Sd/-

K.K Sharma, IAS(Retd)
State Election Commission.
Election Authority
UT of J&K

Dated: 13-11-2020

No. 16/SEC/Pyt/2020/CEO/634-53 Copy to:

- 1. All Financial Commissioners.
- 2. Director General of Police, J&K.
- 3. All Principal Secretaries to the Government.



(49)

- 4. Principal Secretary to the Lieutenant Governor.
- 5. Principal Resident Commissioner, J&K Government, New Delhi.
- 6. Joint Secretary (J&K), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India.
- 7. All Commissioner/Secretaries to the Government.
- 8. Divisional Commissioner Jammu/Kashmir.
- 9. Chairperson, J&K Special Tribunal.
- 10. Director General, J&K Institute of Management & Administration & Rural Development.
- 11. Director, Information, J&K for publishing in leading newspapers of the UT.
- 12. All Deputy Commissioners.
- 13. All Heads of the Departments/Managing Directors/Secretary, Advisory Boards.
- 14. Secretary, PSC/SSB/J&K Academy of Art, Culture & languages.
- 15. Secretary, J&K Legislative Assembly.
- 16. General Manager, Government Press, Jammu.
- 17. Dy. DEO, ALL Districts
- 18. Returning Officers/Assitant Returning Officer, DDC Elections(All Districts)
- 19. Private Secretary to the Chief Secretary.
- 20. Private Secretary to the Advisor (S)/(F)/(B) & (BK) to the Lieutenant Governor.

(Anil Salgotra)

Secretary
State Election Commission
UT of Jammu & Kashmir