STATE ELECTION COMMISSION (Election Authority)

(Jammu & Kashmir Panchayati Raj Act, 1989) Union Territory of Jammu & Kashmir Nirvachan Bhawan, Rail Head Complex, Jammu Phone No: 0191-2477519 Fax No - 0191-2477389

Notification No: EA/Pyt/2021/15
Dated: 25.01.2021

Whereas, District Development Councils are to be established for every district in terms of Section 45 of the Jammu and Kashmir Panchayati Raj Act 1989 (as amended by S.O. 3654(E) dated 16-10-2020 of the Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India) which reads as under:

45.- For each district there shall be a District Development Council, having jurisdiction, over the entire district excluding, such portions of the district as are included in a Municipality or Municipal Corporation constituted under any law for the time being in force.

Whereas, elections to elect members of the District Development Councils in each district were conducted in the month of November-December, 2020 and 278 members have been returned elected out of the total 280 District Development Council Constituencies in the Union Territory, on 22nd December, 2020;

Whereas, the Government in the Rural Development Department, UT of Jammu and Kashmir issued S.O. 13 dated 11th January 2021 notifying the Jammu and Kashmir District Development Council (Reservation of Offices of Chairpersons) Rules, 2021;

Whereas, Rule 2(a) of the said Rules envisages issuance of an order, as soon as possible, after deceleration of results of elected members of the District Development Councils, for reservation of the Offices of Chairpersons of the District Development Councils in accordance with the provisions of these rules;

Whereas, Rule 2(b) of the said Rules provides for the reservation of offices of Chairpersons of the District Development Councils for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes, as nearly as may be, in the same proportion to the population of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes in the Union Territory, and Rule 4 further envisages the allocation of the seats so reserved to different District Development Councils on the basis of population of Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes in such District Development Councils in the descending order, i.e from amongst all the District



Council having the largest population of Scheduled Tribes shall be allotted to the largest population of Scheduled Tribes Category and the District Development Council having the largest population of Scheduled Castes shall be allotted to Scheduled Caste Category:

Whereas, Rule 2(c) of the said Rules provides for reservation of one-third of the total number of seats of the Offices of Chairpersons to be reserved for women;

Whereas, the population details with reference to the provisions of the said Rules were sought from the Secretary Rural Development, Government of Jammu and Kashmir, vide this office letter no: PS/SEC/2021/1909 dated 14-01-2021;

Whereas, in response to the same, Government of Jammu and Kashmir in the Rural Development, vide letter No. RD/PR/Pyt/23/2020 dated 22-01-2021 has provided the population details of the District Development Councils as under:

District	Total Population of DDCs	SC Population	ST Population
Ananthag	816066	0	. 102320
Kulgam	398890	0	20317
Pulwama	480533	52	22180
Shopian	238993	0	21726
Srinagar	49656	0	5251
Ganderbal	273359	.0	47894
Budgam	671130	2	20793
Baramulla	894821	0	37665
Bandipora	329135	57	74452
Kupwara	825375	326	71202
Jammu	837065	278182	55149
Samba	258716	75985	15398
Udhampur	472150	127680	55276
Reasi	296462	34958	88237
Kathua	545213	123643	49860
Doda	377312	52369	38595
Kishtwar	215831	14020	38069
Ramban	272257	13534	38989
Rajouri	584540	44779	226714
Poonch	443238	274	172780

Now therefore, in accordance with the provisions of the Jammu and Kashmir District Development Council (Reservation of Offices of Chairpersons) Rules, 2021 the Election Authority, State Election Commission, UT of Jammu and





Kashmir, notifies the draft reservation of offices of the Chairpersons of the District Development Councils as under:

District Development Council	Reservation Status	
Anantnag	Schedule Tribe	
Bandipora	Open	
Baramulla	Women	
Budgam	Open	
Doda	Open	
Ganderbal	Women	
Jammu	Schedule Caste	
Kathua	Open	
Kishtwar	Women	
Kulgam	Open	
Kupwara	Open	
Poonch	Schedule Tribe Women	
Pulwama	Open	
Rajouri	Schedule Tribe	
Ramban	Women	
Reası	Open	
Samba	Орен .	
Shopian	Women	
Srinagar	Open	
Udhampur	Schedule Caste	

Objections, if any, to the draft reservation of offices of the Chairpersons of the District Development Councils, as proposed above, may be filed to the Secretary, State Election Commission, Nirvachan Bhawan, Rail Head Complex, Jammu on or before, 30th January, 2021 or sent on email id:-

ceo-jk@nic.in

Sd/K. K. Sharma, IAS(Retd.)
State Election Commissioner
(Election Authority)
Dated:25/01/2021

No. 0/ /SEC/PYT/2021/1912-32.

- 1. All Financial Commissioners.
- 2. Director General of Police, J&K.
- 3. All Principal Secretaries to the Government.
- 4. Principal Secretary to the Lieutenant Governor.
- 5. Principal Resident Commissioner, J&K Government, New Delhi.
- 6. Joint Secretary (J&K), Ministry of Home Affairs, Government of India.
- 7. All Commissioner/Secretaries to the Government.
- 8. Divisional Commissioner Jammu/Kashmir.
- 9. Chairperson, J&K Special Tribunal.
- 10. Director General, J&K Institute of Management & Administration & Rural Development.

11. Director, Information, J&K for publishing in leading newspapers of the UT.

12. All Deputy Commissioners.

- 13. All Heads of the Departments/Managing Directors/Secretary, Advisory Boards.
- 14. Secretary, PSC/SSB/J&K Academy of Art, Culture & languages.
- 15. Director, Estates.
- 16 Director, Archives, Archaeology & Museums, J&K.
- 17. Secretary, J&K Legislative Assembly.
- 18. General Manager, Government Press, Jammu.
- 19. Private Secretary to the Chief Secretary.
- 20. Private Secretary to the Advisor (F)/(B) & (BK) to the Lieutenant Governor.

ecretary State Election Commission